Podium alternatives and pricing

The short answer

Podium’s customer messaging software lists Core at $399 a month and Pro at $599, plus Podium Phones at $30 a user. The default term is 12 months paid a year in advance, and leaving early means owing the full term. Alternatives: Birdeye for reviews, Weave for clinic phones, GoHighLevel for marketing, Allo for team phones, Rosie or CoveDesk for answering.

This page is about Podium, the customer messaging software at podium.com, not lecterns. Owners hire it to text customers, collect reviews and run phones from one inbox, and answering calls is an add-on with no published price. Below: what its pricing page and terms say, then who else does each of those jobs.

Updated November 3, 2026. CoveDesk is one of the services on this page; other companies’ prices and features are from their own websites, linked below.

Podium alternatives, by what you need

  • Birdeye: The closest match on reviews and messaging, with ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro named. Also sold by quote, on longer renewal notice. Prices not published.
  • Weave: Phones, texting and reviews in one platform if you run a clinic, since its pages are written for healthcare. From Not listed: 1, as published.
  • CoveDesk (that’s us): if you want calls picked up, missed callers texted, and your Google profile and website looked after, all set up and run for you. Not live receptionists. Front Desk is $249/mo with 250 minutes. Free 14-day pilot.
  • GoHighLevel: Marketing, review requests and missed-call texts in one platform, month to month, if you or an agency will set it up. From $97/month: 3 sub-accounts, as published.
  • Allo: Team phones with missed-call texts at a per-seat price you can see before you talk to anyone, and no contract. From $15/seat/month: One person, as published.
  • Housecall Pro: Job software with review requests and paid answering add-ons, if you’re in home services and want everything in one system. From $79/month: 1 user, as published.
  • Rosie: Software that picks up the phone and not much else, if unanswered calls are the real problem. From $49/month: 250 minutes, as published.

Podium pricing

Podium plans, as published on its pricing page (opens in a new tab) on November 3, 2026
PlanPriceIncludesExtra use
Core$399/month250 bulk message credits, 5 phone numbers$5/month per extra number; high-volume verified messaging $15/month
Pro$599/month500 bulk message credits, 15 phone numbers, high-volume verified messaging$5/month per extra number
SignatureCustomThrough salesNot listed
Podium Phones$30/user/month (1 to 4 users), $25/user/month (5 or more)Phone system with missed-call texts and after-hours routing; keep your numberUsage rates apply; $500 network optimization fee per location
Voice and text assistant (add-on)Not listedAnswers calls and texts at any hour; can be added to any planNot listed

You buy through sales, not online. Podium’s page says prices can vary by industry, partnerships, integrations, volume and carrier fees, and it sends HVAC businesses to sales, so read these as list prices. Its terms set a default of 12 months paid once a year in advance, unless your order says otherwise. That makes the first year $4,788 on Core and $7,188 on Pro, before add-ons. Texting registration is $5 a month per US location. A separate home-services version is priced per technician by quote.

Podium vs CoveDesk

Podium and CoveDesk side by side, as of November 3, 2026
What to comparePodiumCoveDesk
Who answersYour own staff, in its inbox and on Podium Phones. A software voice assistant that answers calls and texts at any hour is an add-on. Source: Podium, who answers (opens in a new tab)A trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. Not live receptionists. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.
Published priceCore $399 a month, Pro $599, Signature custom. Phones $30 a user a month for 1 to 4 users, $25 for 5 or more. Source: Podium, published price (opens in a new tab)Front Desk: $249/mo with 250 minutes. Text-Back alone: $99/mo.
How use is countedBy plan, seat and usage, not by answered call. Subscription fees default to once a year in advance; usage is invoiced monthly afterward. Source: Podium, how use is counted (opens in a new tab)By the minute. Seconds are added up over the month and rounded once, not per call. Extra minutes $0.35 each. Alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes.
Setup feeNo setup fee listed for the plans. Phones lists a $500 network optimization fee per location. Source: Podium, setup fee (opens in a new tab)None.
Contract12 months by default, renewing for the same length unless you give notice at least 30 days before the end. Source: Podium, contract (opens in a new tab)Front Desk is month to month. See pricing for other plans.
Free trialNot stated on the pages we read. Its pages offer a demo or a quote. Source: Podium, free trial (opens in a new tab)Free 14-day pilot. We set it up, it’s live within 48 hours, and you can start with just your after-hours calls.
Money-back guaranteeNot stated on the pages we read. Its terms call fees non-refundable, with listed exceptions. Source: Podium, money-back guarantee (opens in a new tab)30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t working for you, tell us within 30 days of your first plan payment and we’ll end the plan and refund your first month’s plan fee.
Who sets it upEvery plan includes step-by-step onboarding and customer success managers. Who builds the voice assistant isn’t stated. Source: Podium, who sets it up (opens in a new tab)Our team sets it up, writes your script and runs it.
Urgent callsIts page shows Larry, the home-services voice agent, handling calls “with no transfers” and routing an emergency to dispatch. Source: Podium, urgent calls (opens in a new tab)Urgent calls are put straight through to you. No on-call rotation yet.
BookingThe add-on books on your calendar. Larry books from the dispatch board, price book and tech availability. Source: Podium, booking (opens in a new tab)Takes the details and sends them to you to call back. No calendar booking yet.
Job software and CRMsIts pricing page mentions 200-plus integrations, and the pages we read name none. The home-services version includes Podium’s own job software. Source: Podium, job software and crms (opens in a new tab)None yet. Details arrive by text and in your CoveDesk account.
SpanishNot mentioned on its voice assistant pages. Source: Podium, spanish (opens in a new tab)Not yet.
Text back after a missed callYes. Podium Phones texts the caller when a call goes unanswered. Source: Podium, text back after a missed call (opens in a new tab)Yes, included in Front Desk or on its own with Text-Back.
Review requestsInvites go out by text with automatic reminders. Reviews from Google and other sites collect in one inbox. Source: Podium, review requests (opens in a new tab)Done for you with Google Business Profile Management, $149/mo.
Google profile careCollects and answers Google reviews. Editing a Google profile isn’t described. Source: Podium, google profile care (opens in a new tab)Done for you, $149/mo, or included in Front Office.
WebsiteWebsite chat only on the pages we read. No website building mentioned. Source: Podium, website (opens in a new tab)Built and looked after for you, or included in Front Office. See pricing.

Stay with Podium if

  • Your staff text customers all day. Podium is built around that inbox, with bulk message credits on each plan. CoveDesk answers the phone; it isn’t a texting inbox for your team.
  • You want the appointment booked during the call. Its add-on books on your calendar. CoveDesk takes the details so you can call back.
  • You run home services and want one system. The home-services version bundles dispatch, estimates, a price book and payments, and Larry books from live tech availability. CoveDesk has no job software connection yet.
  • Review invites by text are the main job. Podium sends them with automatic reminders and gathers Google and other reviews in one place.

What does a first year of Podium cost with phones?

Worked from its list prices for one US location and two people on Phones, paid the way its terms set by default:

  • Core. $399 × 12 = $4,788.
  • Podium Phones. Two users at $30 is $60 a month, or $720 for the year.
  • Texting registration. $5 × 12 = $60.
  • Total. $5,568 before call and text usage.
  • Not in that total. The $500 network optimization fee if you need it, and the voice assistant, which has no listed price. On Pro the same sum comes to $7,968.

Why owners look past Podium

  • The year up front. The terms default to 12 months paid annually in advance, so unless your order says otherwise, saying yes to Core is a $4,788 decision, not a $399 one.
  • Answering is priced separately, and the price isn’t shown. The voice assistant is an add-on, and the pricing page says to get a demo.
  • You can’t start on your own. There’s no self-serve checkout, and the page warns that the figure can move with your industry, volume and carrier fees.
  • Phones can bring a one-time bill. The network optimization fee is $500 per location. If Podium’s network test finds your internet connection short, its Phones terms have you buy that service or sign a waiver and use your own IT person.
  • You may only need one of its jobs. If the gap is unanswered calls, you’d be paying for an inbox, bulk credits and review tools to get there.

Where CoveDesk is different

  • You’re buying the answering itself. CoveDesk is a trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. There’s no messaging platform to buy first.
  • No year-long start. Front Desk is month to month with a 30-day money-back guarantee, and missed-call texts are included.
  • What you give up. No shared inbox, bulk texting or calendar booking, no Spanish and no job software connection yet. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Switching from Podium

Before you cancel anything, forward your calls to the new service and make three test calls of your own: a new customer, an urgent problem and a wrong number.

How we checked this

We make CoveDesk, so we’re not neutral, and this page isn’t a review. Everything about Podium comes from its own website, read on November 3, 2026, with the pages linked below. We haven’t bought its service, and we don’t quote ratings or anyone’s opinion as fact. Where we couldn’t find a fact, we say so instead of guessing, and “not mentioned” means not on the pages we read, which isn’t a search of its whole site.

Common questions

Who competes with Podium?
It depends on the job. For reviews and messaging, Birdeye. For healthcare phones and texting, Weave. For marketing software, GoHighLevel. For team phones, Allo and Grasshopper. For someone to answer calls, an answering service or a software voice assistant such as Rosie, Upfirst or CoveDesk.
How much does Podium cost?
Its pricing page listed Core at $399 a month, Pro at $599 and Signature as custom on November 3, 2026, with Phones at $30 a user a month for 1 to 4 users. It says prices can vary, and you buy through sales. Other sites quote their own totals; those are estimates.
Is Podium free to use?
No free plan or trial is mentioned on the pages we read. They offer a demo or a quote, and the listed plans start at $399 a month.
Does Podium answer phone calls?
Not on its own. Your staff answer on Podium Phones, which texts callers you miss. A voice assistant that answers calls and texts is an add-on with no listed price, and the home-services version includes one called Larry.
Can I keep my number if I leave Podium?
Yes, if you move it before the account ends. Its Phones terms say it will honor a valid request to move the number, that it may charge fees for the request, and that numbers still there at the end may be released. You still owe what’s left of your term.
How do I cancel Podium?
Give notice at least 30 days before the current term ends; its terms accept an email to support@podium.com. That stops the renewal. Leaving in the middle of a term generally means paying for the rest of it.
Is CoveDesk a live receptionist service?
No. CoveDesk is a phone answering service: a trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, that picks up in your business’s name at any hour. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Sources

What this page says about Podium comes from these pages of its website, read on November 3, 2026:

Prices and features change; check Podium’s website before you buy. Company names are the trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their services; none of them is affiliated with or endorses CoveDesk. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.

Want every call answered?

Tell us how your calls come in today and we’ll suggest the simplest setup, even if it isn’t CoveDesk.