Weave phone system alternatives and pricing

The short answer

Weave is a business phone, texting and reviews platform built for healthcare practices, with plans starting from $199 a month and per-plan prices behind a form. Its terms say no cancellation takes effect until every number has been moved off Weave. Other businesses could look at Allo or Grasshopper for phones and Upfirst or CoveDesk for answering; clinics could also look at Podium.

This is Weave, the phone and patient messaging platform at getweave.com. Practices hire it so front-desk staff can run calls, texts, reminders, reviews and payments in one place, and its pricing page opens by addressing healthcare organizations. It’s a system your staff answer, not an answering service. If you don’t run a clinic, the question below matters more than the price.

Updated November 3, 2026. CoveDesk is one of the services on this page; other companies’ prices and features are from their own websites, linked below.

Weave alternatives, by what you need

  • Podium: Texting, reviews and phones for local businesses across industries, not only clinics, with list prices on its page. From $399/month: 250 bulk message credits, as published.
  • Allo: A team phone system with texts after missed calls, priced per seat in public, for a business that has no use for patient features. From $15/seat/month: One person, as published.
  • CoveDesk (that’s us): if you want calls picked up, missed callers texted, and your Google profile and website looked after, all set up and run for you. Not live receptionists. Front Desk is $249/mo with 250 minutes. Free 14-day pilot.
  • Grasshopper: A business number your own people answer, far smaller than a full office platform, if phones are all you came for. From $14/month, billed annually at $168: 1 user, as published.
  • Upfirst: Answering only, with veterinary offices among its examples, if your staff keep their phones and you just need calls covered. From $24.95/month: 30 calls, as published.
  • Rosie: Software that answers calls and takes messages, if you want answering available now rather than an early-access list. From $49/month: 250 minutes, as published.

Weave doesn’t publish full prices

Weave plans, as published on its pricing page (opens in a new tab) on November 3, 2026
PlanPriceIncludesExtra use
ProNot listed1,500 bulk texts a monthNot listed
EliteNot listed3,000 bulk texts a monthNot listed
UltimateNot listedUp to 15 phones, 15,000 bulk texts a month, one-on-one training, premium analyticsNot listed

The one figure Weave gives is that plans start from $199 per month. It doesn’t say which plan that buys or how it’s billed, and each plan’s price sits behind a form. Its early-access software receptionist has no listed price either, only an offer of 25% off through the rest of 2026. Higher monthly totals and hardware costs quoted on other websites are their estimates, not Weave’s numbers.

Weave vs CoveDesk

Weave and CoveDesk side by side, as of November 3, 2026
What to compareWeaveCoveDesk
Who answersYour own staff, on its phones. A software receptionist for patient-care practices is in early access and answers calls, texts and web chats 24/7. Source: Weave, who answers (opens in a new tab)A trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. Not live receptionists. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.
Published pricePlans start from $199 a month. Prices for Pro, Elite and Ultimate sit behind a form. Source: Weave, published price (opens in a new tab)Front Desk: $249/mo with 250 minutes. Text-Back alone: $99/mo.
How use is countedHow use is billed isn’t stated. Bulk texts are capped by plan at 1,500, 3,000 or 15,000 a month. Source: Weave, how use is counted (opens in a new tab)By the minute. Seconds are added up over the month and rounded once, not per call. Extra minutes $0.35 each. Alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes.
Setup feeNot stated on the pages we read. Expert onboarding comes with every plan. Source: Weave, setup fee (opens in a new tab)None.
ContractSet by your order. Orders of a year or longer renew unless you give notice 30 days before the end. With no stated term, cancel 30 days before the next billing period. Source: Weave, contract (opens in a new tab)Front Desk is month to month. See pricing for other plans.
Free trialNot stated on the pages we read. Source: Weave, free trial (opens in a new tab)Free 14-day pilot. We set it up, it’s live within 48 hours, and you can start with just your after-hours calls.
Money-back guaranteeNot stated on the pages we read. Its terms say there are no refunds for cancellations. Source: Weave, money-back guarantee (opens in a new tab)30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t working for you, tell us within 30 days of your first plan payment and we’ll end the plan and refund your first month’s plan fee.
Who sets it upExpert onboarding and support are included with every plan. Source: Weave, who sets it up (opens in a new tab)Our team sets it up, writes your script and runs it.
Urgent callsThe early-access receptionist hands off to a person with a summary of the conversation. No on-call paging described. Source: Weave, urgent calls (opens in a new tab)Urgent calls are put straight through to you. No on-call rotation yet.
BookingThe early-access receptionist takes requests for your team. Automatic booking is described only for dental practice systems and the Weave calendar. Source: Weave, booking (opens in a new tab)Takes the details and sends them to you to call back. No calendar booking yet.
Job software and CRMsThe pricing page lists dental, veterinary, medical and optometry systems. We couldn’t read its full list, so no job software or CRM connection is confirmed. Source: Weave, job software and crms (opens in a new tab)None yet. Details arrive by text and in your CoveDesk account.
SpanishLanguage switching on the early-access receptionist is listed as coming soon. Source: Weave, spanish (opens in a new tab)Not yet.
Text back after a missed callYes. A customizable text goes out from an office number when a call goes unanswered. Source: Weave, text back after a missed call (opens in a new tab)Yes, included in Front Desk or on its own with Text-Back.
Review requestsYes. Requests go to customers after their appointments. Source: Weave, review requests (opens in a new tab)Done for you with Google Business Profile Management, $149/mo.
Google profile careNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Weave, google profile care (opens in a new tab)Done for you, $149/mo, or included in Front Office.
WebsiteOnline scheduling for a site you already have. No website building mentioned. Source: Weave, website (opens in a new tab)Built and looked after for you, or included in Front Office. See pricing.

Stay with Weave if

  • You run a dental, vet, medical or eye practice. The integrations and features are built for you, down to vaccine reminders for vets and insurance verification for dental. CoveDesk has no connection to practice software.
  • Your front desk wants phones, texts and payments together. One platform covers the phone tree, two-way texting, reviews and text-to-pay. CoveDesk answers calls and doesn’t replace those tools.
  • You want desk phones supplied. Ultimate includes up to 15 and the terms cover leased or bought equipment. CoveDesk doesn’t supply phones.
  • Patients book online. Weave has online scheduling. CoveDesk takes the details for a callback and has no calendar booking yet.

Does Weave make sense if you don’t run a clinic?

  • Who the pricing page addresses. Healthcare organizations. Plans are described in terms of patient communication and patient experience.
  • What only a practice would use. Overdue patients list, recall, insurance verification and practice analytics (dental), eyewear ready notices (optometry) and vaccine reminders (veterinary).
  • What carries over to any business. Office phones, phone tree, call queue, two-way texting, missed-call texts, reviews and payments.
  • What to ask. Its plumbing and HVAC pages exist, but the integrations shown on its pricing page are dental, veterinary, medical and optometry. If you run on job software or a CRM, ask for the connection by name before you sign.

Why owners look past Weave

  • You aren’t a clinic. Plan features include an overdue patients list, recall, and insurance verification for dental. Plumbing and HVAC pages exist, but the pricing page is written for practices.
  • The price stops at “from.” You get $199 and a form. The page doesn’t tie that to a plan, a number of phones or a billing period.
  • Your number decides when you’re finished. The cancellation rule in its terms ties your last bill to moving every number away.
  • Answering is still in early access. The software receptionist is aimed at patient-care practices, with a waitlist for veterinary offices and no listed price.

Where CoveDesk is different

  • Any small business. CoveDesk isn’t written around patients, so a salon, a law office or a plumber gets the same service.
  • It answers, today. A trained voice assistant picks up in your business’s name, day or night, set up and run by our team, with no early-access list to join.
  • A simpler way out. Front Desk is month to month with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • What you give up. No office phones, patient reminders, payments or practice software connection, and no Spanish or booking yet. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Switching from Weave

Before you cancel anything, forward your calls to the new service and make three test calls of your own: a new customer, an urgent problem and a wrong number.

How we checked this

We make CoveDesk, so we’re not neutral, and this page isn’t a review. Everything about Weave comes from its own website, read on November 3, 2026, with the pages linked below. We haven’t bought its service, and we don’t quote ratings or anyone’s opinion as fact. Where we couldn’t find a fact, we say so instead of guessing, and “not mentioned” means not on the pages we read, which isn’t a search of its whole site.

Common questions

How much is a weave phone system per month?
Weave’s pricing page says plans start from $199 per month and doesn’t list what Pro, Elite or Ultimate cost. It also has no listed price for its early-access receptionist. Totals on other websites are third-party estimates, so ask for a written quote that names phones and hardware.
What are some alternatives to Weave?
For clinics, Podium is the nearest of the tools here. Outside healthcare, Allo and Grasshopper are phone systems your staff answer. If the real need is calls answered when no one’s free, Upfirst, Rosie and CoveDesk do that without replacing your phones.
Is Weave a VoIP provider?
Yes. Its plan comparison lists VoIP phones and its terms point to separate VoIP service terms, which means calls run over your internet connection rather than a traditional phone line.
Does Weave provide phones?
Ultimate includes up to 15 phones. Its terms cover both leased equipment, which stays Weave’s and must be returned, and purchased equipment, which is yours. Hardware on Pro and Elite isn’t spelled out on the pricing page.
Can I keep my number if I leave Weave?
You’re expected to move it: its terms say no cancellation takes effect until every number on the account has been moved out of Weave, and fees continue while any remain. The terms don’t describe the process or what happens if you’d rather drop a number, so ask support.
How do I cancel Weave?
Give notice at least 30 days before the next billing period, or 30 days before the end if your order has a term of a year or longer. Move your numbers out first, return any leased phones within 10 business days and expect no refund.
Is CoveDesk a live receptionist service?
No. CoveDesk is a phone answering service: a trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, that picks up in your business’s name at any hour. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Sources

What this page says about Weave comes from these pages of its website, read on November 3, 2026:

Prices and features change; check Weave’s website before you buy. Company names are the trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their services; none of them is affiliated with or endorses CoveDesk. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.

Want every call answered?

Tell us how your calls come in today and we’ll suggest the simplest setup, even if it isn’t CoveDesk.