AnswerConnect alternatives and pricing
The short answer
AnswerConnect sells live answering in monthly minute bundles, rounded up to whole minutes, from $350 for 200 minutes plus a $49.99 setup fee, and its terms set a 90-day minimum. Growth is $395 for 300 minutes with no setup fee. Live options PATLive, MAP Communications and Abby Connect sell smaller plans. Smith.ai bills per call, Dialzara answers with software, and CoveDesk is software our team runs.
This page is about AnswerConnect the phone answering company, not the CCH tax research product with a similar name. Its smallest plan is 200 minutes, so the first question is whether you use that many. Here’s what each bundle costs, how a minute gets counted, how it compares with CoveDesk, and who sells smaller plans.
Updated November 3, 2026. CoveDesk is one of the services on this page; other companies’ prices and features are from their own websites, linked below.
AnswerConnect alternatives, by what you need
- PATLive: Plans well under 200 minutes, a 14-day free trial, no setup fee listed, and Spanish with no added fee, though its trade pages give bilingual hours as 8am to 10pm Eastern. From $49/month: no minutes included, as published.
- Smith.ai: Charges by the call instead of the minute, so rounding stops mattering and a long call costs the same as a short one. From $0/month: 25 calls answered by software, as published.
- CoveDesk (that’s us): if you want calls picked up, missed callers texted, and your Google profile and website looked after, all set up and run for you. Not live receptionists. Front Desk is $249/mo with 250 minutes. Free 14-day pilot.
- MAP Communications: Bundles from 125 minutes, a pay-as-you-go plan and a 7-day trial. It also rounds up to whole minutes, and it bills post-call work too. From $49/month: no minutes included, as published.
- Abby Connect: One pool of minutes shared by people and software, on-call paging, and Spanish on every plan at no extra cost. From $164/month: 50 Abby Minutes, as published.
- Ruby: Month-to-month receptionists and a 21-day refund for first-time users, a guarantee AnswerConnect’s pages don’t describe. It costs more per minute. From $250/month: 50 receptionist minutes, as published.
- Dialzara: A software voice agent on small per-minute plans with a 7-day trial, if you don’t need a person to pick up. From $29/month: 60 minutes, as published.
AnswerConnect pricing
| Plan | Price | Includes | Extra use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | $350/month | 200 minutes | $2.50 per extra minute; $49.99 setup fee |
| Growth | $395/month | 300 minutes | $1.85 per extra minute; no setup fee |
| Standard | $575/month | 400 minutes | $1.85 per extra minute; $49.99 setup fee |
| 550 minutes | $795/month | 550 minutes; features and setup fee not listed | $1.85 per extra minute |
| 750 minutes | $1,050/month | 750 minutes; features and setup fee not listed | $1.85 per extra minute |
That works out to $1.75 a minute on Entry, about $1.32 on Growth, about $1.44 on Standard, about $1.45 at 550 minutes and $1.40 at 750. Growth has the lowest rate of any plan up to 2,500 minutes. Bundles continue at 950 minutes for $1,325 and 2,500 for $3,375, and on up to 100,000 minutes for $132,950. Spanish is a paid add-on with no published amount. Its FAQ says every plan includes website chat, but the Entry card doesn’t list it.
AnswerConnect vs CoveDesk
| What to compare | AnswerConnect | CoveDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Who answers | Live receptionists, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Source: AnswerConnect, who answers (opens in a new tab) | A trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. Not live receptionists. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call. |
| Published price | $350 a month for 200 minutes, up to $3,375 for 2,500, with larger bundles above that. Source: AnswerConnect, published price (opens in a new tab) | Front Desk: $249/mo with 250 minutes. Text-Back alone: $99/mo. |
| How use is counted | Whole minutes, rounded up, and its terms count hold time, patching and other work done for you. Its plans page adds that the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds each cycle are free. Source: AnswerConnect, how use is counted (opens in a new tab) | By the minute. Seconds are added up over the month and rounded once, not per call. Extra minutes $0.35 each. Alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes. |
| Setup fee | $49.99 on Entry and Standard, none on Growth, not listed on larger bundles. Source: AnswerConnect, setup fee (opens in a new tab) | None. |
| Contract | Its plans page says you aren’t locked in. Its terms set a minimum of 90 calendar days, then month to month until either side gives written notice. Source: AnswerConnect, contract (opens in a new tab) | Front Desk is month to month. See pricing for other plans. |
| Free trial | None: one of its pages says there’s no trial period for new clients. It offers a free call to hear how the service sounds. Source: AnswerConnect, free trial (opens in a new tab) | Free 14-day pilot. We set it up, it’s live within 48 hours, and you can start with just your after-hours calls. |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated on the pages we read. Source: AnswerConnect, money-back guarantee (opens in a new tab) | 30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t working for you, tell us within 30 days of your first plan payment and we’ll end the plan and refund your first month’s plan fee. |
| Who sets it up | Not stated on the pages we read, apart from its Client Services team turning on the on-call calendar. Source: AnswerConnect, who sets it up (opens in a new tab) | Our team sets it up, writes your script and runs it. |
| Urgent calls | On-call calendar in its app: receptionists transfer calls or relay urgent messages to whoever’s on call, in the order you set. Client Services has to turn it on. Source: AnswerConnect, urgent calls (opens in a new tab) | Urgent calls are put straight through to you. No on-call rotation yet. |
| Booking | Appointment scheduling is listed with its bilingual service. Its integrations page also names the Setmore scheduling app. Source: AnswerConnect, booking (opens in a new tab) | Takes the details and sends them to you to call back. No calendar booking yet. |
| Job software and CRMs | 37 names on its integrations page, including Salesforce, HubSpot, Workiz, ServiceMinder, Thryv and Zapier. Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro aren’t among them; it says other apps may connect through Zapier. Source: AnswerConnect, job software and crms (opens in a new tab) | None yet. Details arrive by text and in your CoveDesk account. |
| Spanish | English and Spanish answering 24/7 as a paid add-on. The amount isn’t public. Source: AnswerConnect, spanish (opens in a new tab) | Not yet. |
| Text back after a missed call | Not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: AnswerConnect, text back after a missed call (opens in a new tab) | Yes, included in Front Desk or on its own with Text-Back. |
| Review requests | Not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: AnswerConnect, review requests (opens in a new tab) | Done for you with Google Business Profile Management, $149/mo. |
| Google profile care | Not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: AnswerConnect, google profile care (opens in a new tab) | Done for you, $149/mo, or included in Front Office. |
| Website | No website building. Offers live chat for the site you already have. Source: AnswerConnect, website (opens in a new tab) | Built and looked after for you, or included in Front Office. See pricing. |
Stay with AnswerConnect if
- You’ll use 300 minutes or more and want people. Growth comes to about $1.32 a minute with receptionists around the clock. CoveDesk doesn’t have live receptionists.
- Several people share urgent calls. The on-call calendar in its app sends urgent calls or messages to whoever’s up, in the order you set. CoveDesk puts urgent calls through to the owner and has no on-call rotation yet.
- Your tools are on its list. It shows 37 names, including Workiz, ServiceMinder, Thryv, HubSpot and Salesforce. CoveDesk doesn’t connect to job software yet.
- Callers need Spanish. You can add English and Spanish answering around the clock, for a fee. CoveDesk has no Spanish yet.
What’s the least you can spend trying AnswerConnect?
Its terms set a minimum of 90 calendar days, so plan on about three monthly bills even though its plans page says you’re free to change at any time. The terms don’t say what happens if you stop sooner, so ask. Here are list prices, before tax and any extra minutes:
- Entry. Three months at $350 plus the $49.99 setup fee: $1,099.99.
- Growth. Three months at $395 with no setup fee: $1,185.
- Standard. Three months at $575 plus the $49.99 setup fee: $1,774.99.
What the same month costs
Worked out from each company’s published list prices: the cheapest plan or plan plus extras that covers the month, lowest first at 250 minutes. For companies that bill by the call we count one call as 2.5 minutes, which is the ratio PATLive’s own pages use. These are our sums, not quotes, and they leave out tax and one-time fees.
| Service | 100 minutes (about 40 calls) | 250 minutes (about 100 calls) | 500 minutes (about 200 calls) |
|---|---|---|---|
| CoveDesk | $249Front Desk | $249Front Desk | $336.50Front Desk + 250 extra minutes at $0.35 |
| MAP Communications | $179Business | $339Enterprise | $649Premium |
| AnswerConnect | $350Entry | $395Growth | $760Standard + 100 extra minutes at $1.85 |
| PATLive | $189100 minutes | $448.50200 minutes + 50 extra minutes at $1.99 | $759500 minutes |
| Posh | $215Elegant | $525Luxurious + 50 extra minutes at $2.10 | $975Lavish |
| Ruby | $395100 minutesOr $250: 50 minutes + 50 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list | $1,725500 minutesOr $720: 200 minutes + 50 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list | $1,725500 minutesOr $720: 200 minutes + 300 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list |
Why owners look past AnswerConnect
- “Not locked in” sits next to a 90-day minimum. Its plans page says you’re free to change at any time, while its terms say the agreement runs at least 90 calendar days. Ask which one applies to you before signing.
- There’s no small plan. The smallest bundle is 200 minutes at $350. If you only use 100 of them, each one you used cost $3.50. PATLive, MAP Communications and Abby Connect all publish plans under 200 minutes.
- Standard rarely beats Growth. Standard is $575 for 400 minutes. Growth plus 100 extra minutes at $1.85 comes to $580, so Standard saves $5 at a full 400 minutes, costs more below about 397, and adds a $49.99 setup fee.
- Short calls add up after the first 30. The first 30 interactions under 30 seconds in a billing cycle are free. Past that, a quick wrong number rounds up to a full minute like everything else.
- Spanish has a fee it doesn’t name. Its bilingual page calls the add-on a small monthly charge and gives no figure. PATLive and Abby Connect list Spanish at no extra cost.
- No trial or refund is described. One of its pages says there’s no trial period for new clients, and the pages we read describe no money-back guarantee, only a free call to hear how the service sounds.
Where CoveDesk is different
- No limit on short calls. CoveDesk adds up seconds over the month and rounds once, so a wrong number uses its few seconds whether it’s your 5th or your 50th.
- A way to get your money back. There’s no setup fee, and there’s a free 14-day pilot, and a 30-day money-back guarantee after it. Front Desk is month to month.
- More than the phone. Missed-call texts come with Front Desk, and we can run your Google profile and website at extra cost or in the Front Office plan. AnswerConnect’s site doesn’t mention missed-call texts or Google profiles.
- What you give up. A person on the line. A trained voice assistant answers after a short notice, takes details so you can call back instead of booking, and won’t handle a caller in Spanish today.
Switching from AnswerConnect
- A 90-day minimum. Its terms keep the agreement in effect for at least 90 calendar days, even though its plans page says you’re free to change at any time. Source: AnswerConnect’s terms (opens in a new tab)
- Written notice. After that it runs month to month, and either side can end it in writing. Its terms give no fixed notice period. Source: AnswerConnect’s terms (opens in a new tab)
- Partial months count. You’re charged for each whole or partial month the agreement is in effect, so check your billing date before you send notice. Source: AnswerConnect’s terms (opens in a new tab)
- Your number. Its terms don’t cover who owns a number or how to move one, so ask before you forward or port. They do say to tell it in writing when a number should stop getting patched calls. Source: AnswerConnect’s terms (opens in a new tab)
- Price changes. It can change your plan or pricing going forward with written notice. Source: AnswerConnect’s terms (opens in a new tab)
Before you cancel anything, forward your calls to the new service and make three test calls of your own: a new customer, an urgent problem and a wrong number.
How we checked this
We make CoveDesk, so we’re not neutral, and this page isn’t a review. Everything about AnswerConnect comes from its own website, read on November 3, 2026, with the pages linked below. We haven’t bought its service, and we don’t quote ratings or anyone’s opinion as fact. Where we couldn’t find a fact, we say so instead of guessing, and “not mentioned” means not on the pages we read, which isn’t a search of its whole site.
Common questions
Is AnswerConnect the same company as AnswerForce?
How much does AnswerConnect cost per month?
How much does an answering service cost per month?
Does AnswerConnect have a free trial?
Does AnswerConnect charge for short calls?
How do I cancel AnswerConnect?
Does AnswerConnect work with Jobber or ServiceTitan?
Is CoveDesk a live receptionist service?
Sources
What this page says about AnswerConnect comes from these pages of its website, read on November 3, 2026:
- https://www.answerconnect.com/plans-direct (opens in a new tab) (plans and prices, who answers, setup fee, money-back guarantee, website)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/termsofservice (opens in a new tab) (how use is counted, contract, switching)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/industries/legal-answering-service (opens in a new tab) (free trial)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/help-center/app/how-to-create-an-on-call-calendar/ (opens in a new tab) (who sets it up, urgent calls)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/services/answering-services/bilingual-answering-service (opens in a new tab) (booking, spanish)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/integrations (opens in a new tab) (job software and crms)
- https://www.answerconnect.com/ (opens in a new tab) (text back after a missed call, review requests, google profile care)
- CoveDesk: our pricing page
Prices and features change; check AnswerConnect’s website before you buy. Company names are the trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their services; none of them is affiliated with or endorses CoveDesk. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.
Related comparisons
Answering service pricing
How answering services bill, published prices, and the extra fees to ask about.
Best answering service for small business
Ten services side by side: who answers, what they charge and who each suits.
After-hours answering service
Nights, weekends and holidays: the ways to cover them and what each costs.
Want every call answered?
Tell us how your calls come in today and we’ll suggest the simplest setup, even if it isn’t CoveDesk.