MAP Communications alternatives and pricing

The short answer

MAP Communications sells 24/7 live answering from $49 a month plus $1.37 a minute, then $179 for 125 minutes, $339 for 250 and $649 for 500. Its terms round up to whole minutes, count post-call work and add a per-call fee. Specialty Answering Service and PATLive are other live options, Smith.ai bills per call, Moneypenny sells people or software, and CoveDesk is a voice assistant we run for you.

MAP Communications publishes a plain table of four plans, then says further down the same page that some of what the table includes can cost extra. Here’s the table, what stays unanswered, what the minutes really come to, how it compares with CoveDesk, and who else publishes prices.

Updated November 3, 2026. CoveDesk is one of the services on this page; other companies’ prices and features are from their own websites, linked below.

MAP Communications alternatives, by what you need

  • Specialty Answering Service: Bills by the second, where MAP rounds up to whole minutes, and lists a $0 setup fee. It also has a 14-day trial with no card. From $44/month: its entry plan, as published.
  • PATLive: Doesn’t bill after-call notes, which MAP does, and lists no setup fee, with a 14-day trial. Its minutes cost more. From $49/month: no minutes included, as published.
  • CoveDesk (that’s us): if you want calls picked up, missed callers texted, and your Google profile and website looked after, all set up and run for you. Not live receptionists. Front Desk is $249/mo with 250 minutes. Free 14-day pilot.
  • Moneypenny: Names Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro on its home-services page, and sells software plans as well as people. From $165/month: 50 minutes with a person answering, as published.
  • Ruby: Publishes its rules in detail, including 60-second billing blocks and a 21-day refund for first-time users. It costs more per minute. From $250/month: 50 receptionist minutes, as published.
  • Smith.ai: Per-call billing and a choice of live agents, software or both, so minute rounding stops mattering. From $0/month: 25 calls answered by software, as published.
  • Dialzara: Software on small per-minute plans for owners who don’t need a person, with a 7-day trial and no setup fee. From $29/month: 60 minutes, as published.

MAP Communications pricing

MAP Communications plans, as published on its pricing page (opens in a new tab) on November 3, 2026
PlanPriceIncludesExtra use
Pay As You Go$49/monthno minutes included$1.37 per minute
Business$179/month125 minutes$1.30 per extra minute
Enterprise$339/month250 minutes$1.28 per extra minute
Premium$649/month500 minutes$1.28 per extra minute

Plans work out to about $1.43 a minute on Business, $1.36 on Enterprise and $1.30 on Premium, and on each one an extra minute costs less than that. Moving up only pays once you pass about 95 minutes (Business), 248 (Enterprise) or 492 (Premium). The plan list says full customization is included, but text on the same page says custom scripts, scheduling tools and CRM connections can carry fees it doesn’t price. Its terms add a telecom fee of $.024 a call, plus compliance, technology and holiday fees with no amounts given. A setup fee isn’t stated either way.

MAP Communications vs CoveDesk

MAP Communications and CoveDesk side by side, as of November 3, 2026
What to compareMAP CommunicationsCoveDesk
Who answersLive U.S.-based agents, 24/7 on every plan. Source: MAP Communications, who answers (opens in a new tab)A trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. Not live receptionists. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.
Published price$49 a month plus $1.37 a minute, or $179 for 125 minutes up to $649 for 500. Source: MAP Communications, published price (opens in a new tab)Front Desk: $249/mo with 250 minutes. Text-Back alone: $99/mo.
How use is countedWhole minutes, rounded up, from when the receptionist gets the call. Time finishing your information after the caller hangs up counts. Hold time and spam calls aren’t addressed. Source: MAP Communications, how use is counted (opens in a new tab)By the minute. Seconds are added up over the month and rounded once, not per call. Extra minutes $0.35 each. Alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes.
Setup feeNot stated on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, setup fee (opens in a new tab)None.
ContractRenews monthly. To cancel, written notice has to arrive at least 1 month before your next invoice is due. Its trial page says there’s no long-term contract and no cancellation fee. Source: MAP Communications, contract (opens in a new tab)Front Desk is month to month. See pricing for other plans.
Free trial7 days, full-featured. Other pages say no card is needed; the trial page doesn’t say. Source: MAP Communications, free trial (opens in a new tab)Free 14-day pilot. We set it up, it’s live within 48 hours, and you can start with just your after-hours calls.
Money-back guaranteeNot stated on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, money-back guarantee (opens in a new tab)30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t working for you, tell us within 30 days of your first plan payment and we’ll end the plan and refund your first month’s plan fee.
Who sets it upMentions custom scripts, message routing and account managers who review call metrics. Who does the first setup isn’t stated. Source: MAP Communications, who sets it up (opens in a new tab)Our team sets it up, writes your script and runs it.
Urgent callsUrgent calls can be transferred to your line as you prefer, and technician dispatch is described as part of message delivery. Source: MAP Communications, urgent calls (opens in a new tab)Urgent calls are put straight through to you. No on-call rotation yet.
BookingReceptionists can schedule appointments for technicians. The pricing page lists scheduling tools as a possible extra, with no price. Source: MAP Communications, booking (opens in a new tab)Takes the details and sends them to you to call back. No calendar booking yet.
Job software and CRMsNames Lexicata, Salesforce and Zendesk as example CRMs without saying which are supported. Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro aren’t mentioned on its site. Source: MAP Communications, job software and crms (opens in a new tab)None yet. Details arrive by text and in your CoveDesk account.
SpanishEnglish and Spanish listed on every plan. The same page’s text also calls bilingual support a possible added feature. Source: MAP Communications, spanish (opens in a new tab)Not yet.
Text back after a missed callNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, text back after a missed call (opens in a new tab)Yes, included in Front Desk or on its own with Text-Back.
Review requestsNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, review requests (opens in a new tab)Done for you with Google Business Profile Management, $149/mo.
Google profile careNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, google profile care (opens in a new tab)Done for you, $149/mo, or included in Front Office.
WebsiteNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: MAP Communications, website (opens in a new tab)Built and looked after for you, or included in Front Office. See pricing.

Stay with MAP Communications if

  • You’re buying people by the minute and watching the rate. Extra minutes at $1.28 to $1.37 sit below PATLive’s and Posh’s rates at every size. CoveDesk doesn’t offer live receptionists at any rate.
  • You want room to go over. Because extra minutes cost less than included ones, a smaller plan costs about the same as a bigger one: 250 minutes is $339 on Enterprise and $341.50 on Business plus extras.
  • You want to try it first. The 7-day trial is full-featured, with no long-term contract after it. CoveDesk’s free 14-day pilot starts with a talk with our team, since we set it up for you.
  • Callers need Spanish or a booked appointment. English and Spanish are listed on every plan, and receptionists can schedule technicians. CoveDesk doesn’t do either yet.

What gets added to a MAP Communications invoice?

The plan table shows the monthly price. Its terms list these on top, and most have no published amount:

  • Telecom fee. $.024 a call, so about $2.40 on 100 calls.
  • Compliance and technology fees. Flat fees, amounts not given.
  • Holiday fee. A flat fee on seven major holidays, amount not given.
  • Credit card surcharge. Payments by credit card carry one where the law allows it, amount not given.

Ask for a sample invoice at your call volume before you compare it with another service’s plan price.

What the same month costs

Worked out from each company’s published list prices: the cheapest plan or plan plus extras that covers the month, lowest first at 250 minutes. For companies that bill by the call we count one call as 2.5 minutes, which is the ratio PATLive’s own pages use. These are our sums, not quotes, and they leave out tax and one-time fees.

Monthly cost at three call volumes, from prices published on November 3, 2026
Service100 minutes (about 40 calls)250 minutes (about 100 calls)500 minutes (about 200 calls)
CoveDesk$249Front Desk$249Front Desk$336.50Front Desk + 250 extra minutes at $0.35
Specialty Answering Service$159100 Minute$312.20220 Minute + 30 extra minutes at $1.44$649500 Minute
MAP Communications$179Business$339Enterprise$649Premium
PATLive$189100 minutes$448.50200 minutes + 50 extra minutes at $1.99$759500 minutes
Posh$215Elegant$525Luxurious + 50 extra minutes at $2.10$975Lavish
Ruby$395100 minutesOr $250: 50 minutes + 50 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list$1,725500 minutesOr $720: 200 minutes + 50 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list$1,725500 minutesOr $720: 200 minutes + 300 extra minutes at a rate it doesn’t list

Why owners look past MAP Communications

  • The plan list and the text below it differ. The plan list says customization and English and Spanish are included. General text further down says custom scripts, CRM connections, bilingual support, 24/7 service and HIPAA can cost more, and gives no prices. Get your quote in writing.
  • The rules are in the terms, not the price table. Each call rounds up to a whole minute and post-call work counts. Per-call, compliance, technology and holiday fees come on top, and most have no published amount.
  • Few software connections are named. Lexicata, Salesforce and Zendesk appear as examples, with no word on which are supported, and Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro aren’t mentioned on its site.

Where CoveDesk is different

  • Seconds, not whole minutes. CoveDesk counts seconds across the month and rounds once. MAP Communications’ terms round each call up to a whole minute and add post-call work.
  • We set it up and keep it running. There’s no setup fee, and you get a 30-day money-back guarantee, where MAP’s terms say subscription fees aren’t refunded. MAP Communications’ pages don’t say who handles your first setup, or whether it costs anything.
  • It covers what happens after a missed call. Missed-call texts come with Front Desk, and Google profile care is done for you at extra cost. MAP Communications’ site mentions neither.
  • What you give up. A live agent. Callers talk to a trained voice assistant and hear a short notice first, urgent calls can only come to you, and there’s no connection to job software yet.

Switching from MAP Communications

Before you cancel anything, forward your calls to the new service and make three test calls of your own: a new customer, an urgent problem and a wrong number.

How we checked this

We make CoveDesk, so we’re not neutral, and this page isn’t a review. Everything about MAP Communications comes from its own website, read on November 3, 2026, with the pages linked below. We haven’t bought its service, and we don’t quote ratings or anyone’s opinion as fact. Where we couldn’t find a fact, we say so instead of guessing, and “not mentioned” means not on the pages we read, which isn’t a search of its whole site.

Common questions

How much does a virtual receptionist cost?
At MAP Communications, $179 a month buys 125 minutes with a live agent, or about $1.43 a minute, falling to about $1.30 on the $649 plan. A small account pays $49 plus $1.37 a minute. For comparison, PATLive’s 100-minute plan is $189 and Ruby’s is $395.
How much does MAP Communications cost?
Pay As You Go is $49 a month plus $1.37 a minute. Business is $179 for 125 minutes, Enterprise is $339 for 250, and Premium is $649 for 500, with extra minutes at $1.30 on Business and $1.28 above that. Its site doesn’t say whether there’s a setup fee.
Is a bigger MAP Communications plan worth it?
Only by a little. Extra minutes cost less than the included ones, so 250 minutes on Business comes to $341.50 against $339 on Enterprise, and 500 minutes on Enterprise comes to $659 against $649 on Premium. You don’t lose much by starting small.
Does MAP Communications have a free trial?
Yes, 7 days and full-featured, and it says there’s no long-term contract and no fee to cancel or change plans. Other pages on its site say no credit card is needed, but the trial page itself doesn’t say.
Can I keep my number if I leave MAP Communications?
Don’t count on one it assigned you. Its terms say you have no property rights in a number MAP assigns, and they don’t address porting. If leaving cleanly matters, keep your own number and forward it, and ask about porting in writing first.
How do I cancel MAP Communications?
Send a written cancellation request that reaches it at least 1 month before your next invoice is due. You owe unpaid fees through the end of the current term, and subscription fees aren’t refunded. Otherwise the plan renews each month.
Is CoveDesk a live receptionist service?
No. CoveDesk is a phone answering service: a trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, that picks up in your business’s name at any hour. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Sources

What this page says about MAP Communications comes from these pages of its website, read on November 3, 2026:

Prices and features change; check MAP Communications’s website before you buy. Company names are the trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their services; none of them is affiliated with or endorses CoveDesk. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.

Want every call answered?

Tell us how your calls come in today and we’ll suggest the simplest setup, even if it isn’t CoveDesk.