Direct Line Answers alternatives and pricing

The short answer

Direct Line Answers is a live answering service whose plans start at $115 a month, with a two-month minimum; it doesn’t publish minutes or billing rules without a form. Alternatives with fuller price lists include PATLive, MAP Communications and Abby Connect for live answering, Goodcall for software, and CoveDesk, a voice assistant run for you by its own team.

Direct Line Answers is one specific company: a U.S. live answering service that says it has served contractors since 1979, and it also covers property managers and medical offices. Its pages say plenty about dispatch and little about cost. Here’s what they do say, the side-by-side with CoveDesk, and what else to look at.

Updated November 3, 2026. CoveDesk is one of the services on this page; other companies’ prices and features are from their own websites, linked below.

Direct Line Answers alternatives, by what you need

  • PATLive: Live receptionists with the whole price list on its site, a 14-day trial, and native Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro connections. From $49/month: no minutes included, as published.
  • Abby Connect: You set what counts as an emergency and who gets the call at what hour, then it patches the caller through or pages your on-call person. From $164/month: 50 Abby Minutes, as published.
  • CoveDesk (that’s us): if you want calls picked up, missed callers texted, and your Google profile and website looked after, all set up and run for you. Not live receptionists. Front Desk is $249/mo with 250 minutes. Free 14-day pilot.
  • MAP Communications: A contractors section and a pay-as-you-go plan, so a slow month isn’t tied to a block of minutes. Free 7-day trial. From $49/month: no minutes included, as published.
  • AnswerForce: Also built around contractors, with on-call dispatch and named job software, though it too keeps prices behind a form and its terms set a 90-day minimum. Prices not published.
  • Goodcall: Software instead of people, priced per customer each month rather than per minute, with transfers that try up to three contacts. From $79/month: 100 unique customers, as published.

Direct Line Answers doesn’t publish full prices

Direct Line Answers plans, as published on its pricing page (opens in a new tab) on November 3, 2026
PlanPriceIncludesExtra use
Entry plan (unnamed)Starts at $115/monthan entry plan (minutes not listed)Not listed

The $115 starting price is the only number it publishes. Full plan prices sit behind a form, which we didn’t submit, and its FAQ says cost varies by your needs. Its pages don’t say how many minutes $115 buys, what extra use costs, or how calls are rounded. They do say holidays and weekends cost nothing extra, and that service has a two-month minimum.

Direct Line Answers vs CoveDesk

Direct Line Answers and CoveDesk side by side, as of November 3, 2026
What to compareDirect Line AnswersCoveDesk
Who answersLive agents, 24/7/365, including nights, weekends and holidays. Source: Direct Line Answers, who answers (opens in a new tab)A trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, in your business’s name, day or night. Not live receptionists. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.
Published priceStarts at $115 a month. Full plans need a form. Source: Direct Line Answers, published price (opens in a new tab)Front Desk: $249/mo with 250 minutes. Text-Back alone: $99/mo.
How use is countedMinutes, overage and rounding aren’t stated. Its FAQ says holidays and weekends cost nothing extra. Source: Direct Line Answers, how use is counted (opens in a new tab)By the minute. Seconds are added up over the month and rounded once, not per call. Extra minutes $0.35 each. Alerts at 80% and 100% of your minutes.
Setup feeNot stated on the pages we read. Setup typically takes about three business days. Source: Direct Line Answers, setup fee (opens in a new tab)None.
ContractTwo-month minimum, then month to month. For very large accounts its FAQ says at least 6 months in one answer and 12 in another. Source: Direct Line Answers, contract (opens in a new tab)Front Desk is month to month. See pricing for other plans.
Free trialNot stated on the pages we read. Source: Direct Line Answers, free trial (opens in a new tab)Free 14-day pilot. We set it up, it’s live within 48 hours, and you can start with just your after-hours calls.
Money-back guaranteeNo refund guarantee stated. Its HVAC page guarantees callers reach a person rather than voicemail, without saying what happens if not. Source: Direct Line Answers, money-back guarantee (opens in a new tab)30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t working for you, tell us within 30 days of your first plan payment and we’ll end the plan and refund your first month’s plan fee.
Who sets it upIts team trains agents on your scripts and terms. You forward your calls and choose how messages reach you. Source: Direct Line Answers, who sets it up (opens in a new tab)Our team sets it up, writes your script and runs it.
Urgent callsOnce an agent confirms an emergency, details go to the right person by text, email or phone, following your on-call schedules. Its FAQ adds routing to anyone you name. Source: Direct Line Answers, urgent calls (opens in a new tab)Urgent calls are put straight through to you. No on-call rotation yet.
BookingDescribes appointment intake and a scheduling service. No calendar software named. Source: Direct Line Answers, booking (opens in a new tab)Takes the details and sends them to you to call back. No calendar booking yet.
Job software and CRMsSays it works mainly with Salesforce and SugarCRM, and with others if programming allows. Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro aren’t mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Direct Line Answers, job software and crms (opens in a new tab)None yet. Details arrive by text and in your CoveDesk account.
SpanishAgents fluent in English and Spanish, 24/7. Its contractor page adds 165-plus other languages. Whether it costs extra isn’t stated. Source: Direct Line Answers, spanish (opens in a new tab)Not yet.
Text back after a missed callNot mentioned on the pages we read. Messages reach you by text, email, phone or app. Source: Direct Line Answers, text back after a missed call (opens in a new tab)Yes, included in Front Desk or on its own with Text-Back.
Review requestsNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Direct Line Answers, review requests (opens in a new tab)Done for you with Google Business Profile Management, $149/mo.
Google profile careNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Direct Line Answers, google profile care (opens in a new tab)Done for you, $149/mo, or included in Front Office.
WebsiteNot mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Direct Line Answers, website (opens in a new tab)Built and looked after for you, or included in Front Office. See pricing.

Stay with Direct Line Answers if

  • Emergencies need a human judgment call. An agent confirms it’s an emergency, then sends details to the right person from your on-call schedule. CoveDesk puts urgent calls through to you, with no on-call rotation yet.
  • You want a service that writes for contractors. Its pages speak to plumbers, roofers, HVAC and electricians, and a portal lets you update on-call lists and check messages. CoveDesk serves all small businesses, with no on-call lists to manage.
  • Your callers speak something besides English. Spanish-fluent agents work around the clock, and its contractor page cites 165-plus more languages. CoveDesk has no Spanish yet.

What’s the least you could commit to at Direct Line Answers?

Its $115 starting price and two-month minimum put the floor at $230, before any extra use or setup charge, if your needs fit the entry plan. Its pages don’t say whether they will. To turn that into a real number, ask:

  • How many minutes or calls does $115 include?
  • What does extra use cost, and how are calls rounded?
  • Is there a setup fee, and how much notice does cancelling take?

Why owners look past Direct Line Answers

  • You can’t total a month. $115 is a floor with no minutes attached, so there’s no telling what 40 calls or 200 calls would cost until you’ve asked.
  • No billing rules on the page. Rounding, short calls, wrong numbers and overage all go unmentioned, and its FAQ answers the cost question by pointing you to a form.
  • Two months, at least. Its FAQ sets a two-month minimum, and very large accounts may be held longer. If you’d rather not commit, PATLive and MAP say there’s no long-term contract.
  • A number it assigns isn’t yours to keep. Its FAQ says an assigned number is deactivated when you leave, which matters if it’s on your truck or your ads.
  • Job software goes unnamed. Its FAQ names Salesforce and SugarCRM. Jobber, ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro aren’t mentioned on the pages we read.

Where CoveDesk is different

  • The number comes with its terms. The Front Desk price, its included minutes and how use is counted all appear on this page: seconds added up over the month, rounded once.
  • Terms in the open. CoveDesk’s Front Desk is month to month, with no setup fee and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Direct Line’s pages set a two-month minimum and don’t state a setup fee or refund.
  • Missed-call texts, on their own if you like. They’re part of Front Desk or sold separately, for owners who mainly want missed callers to hear back. Direct Line’s site doesn’t mention them.
  • What you give up. There’s no agent deciding what counts as an emergency: a trained voice assistant takes the call after a short notice to the caller, and takes details for a callback rather than booking.

Switching from Direct Line Answers

Before you cancel anything, forward your calls to the new service and make three test calls of your own: a new customer, an urgent problem and a wrong number.

How we checked this

We make CoveDesk, so we’re not neutral, and this page isn’t a review. Everything about Direct Line Answers comes from its own website, read on November 3, 2026, with the pages linked below. We haven’t bought its service, and we don’t quote ratings or anyone’s opinion as fact. Where we couldn’t find a fact, we say so instead of guessing, and “not mentioned” means not on the pages we read, which isn’t a search of its whole site.

Common questions

How much does Direct Line Answers cost?
Its site says plans start at $115 a month, and that’s the only figure it shows. To see full plans you fill in a form. It doesn’t list included minutes, extra-use rates or any setup fee, so ask for all three together. Treat figures on other sites as estimates.
How much does an answering service charge?
For services that list full plans, about 200 minutes a month costs $269 at Specialty Answering Service (220 minutes), $349 at PATLive, $420 at Posh and $720 at Ruby. Direct Line Answers gives only its $115 starting price, so it can’t be placed on that scale from its site.
Can a missed-call text replace Direct Line Answers?
Not for emergencies. A text back reaches people after the call failed, while an answering service picks up. It can be enough for a business with few urgent calls. Upfirst and CoveDesk both include one; Direct Line’s site doesn’t mention it.
Does Direct Line Answers do emergency dispatch?
Yes. Its dispatch page says an agent confirms the emergency, then sends the details to the right contact by text, email or phone, using your on-call schedules. Its FAQ adds that it can route calls to any person or group you name.
Does Direct Line Answers require a contract?
Its FAQ sets a two-month minimum service period, then month-to-month invoicing. Accounts with very large call volume may need longer: one answer says at least 6 months, another 12. We found no published cancellation notice, so ask.
Can I keep my number if I leave Direct Line Answers?
Yes, if it’s your own. Its FAQ says you can forward existing business numbers to your assigned Direct Line number. If you use a number it assigned you instead, that number is deactivated and unavailable after you leave.
Is CoveDesk a live receptionist service?
No. CoveDesk is a phone answering service: a trained voice assistant, set up and run by our team, that picks up in your business’s name at any hour. Callers hear a short notice at the start of the call.

Sources

What this page says about Direct Line Answers comes from these pages of its website, read on November 3, 2026:

Prices and features change; check Direct Line Answers’s website before you buy. Company names are the trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their services; none of them is affiliated with or endorses CoveDesk. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.

Want every call answered?

Tell us how your calls come in today and we’ll suggest the simplest setup, even if it isn’t CoveDesk.